Election for SIIA Board of Directors is now open


SIIA Board of Directors Elections

The SIIA Board of Directors is the team that makes decisions and sets priorities for the Association at large.  These are your representatives, and you will want to have the best possible advocates for your interests.

SIIA prides itself in having an open process for electing its volunteer leadership.  The process for getting elected to the SIIA Board of Directors is simple: any full member of SIIA who feels they can commit the time and energy is eligible to run for a seat on the SIIA Board of Directors.  Members are self-nominated according to the process outlined below.

The SIIA Board has seventeen seats. In the upcoming election, we will elect nine (9) new Board members to two-year terms.  The nine (9) new Board members will join the returning six (6) members.  This new Board will then appoint two additional Board members to one year terms. The two Board-selected members are usually picked for balancing purposes, since elections may leave one or more segments of our membership under-represented.  For your reference, the returning Board members are:

Suresh Balasubramanian, Director, Worldwide Anti-Piracy, Adobe Systems, Inc.

Daniel Burton, Senior Vice President, Global Public Policy, Salesforce.com

Kenneth Glueck, Vice President, Oracle Corporation

Bernard F. (Bernie) McKay, Vice President, Corporate Affairs, Intuit

Tom Rabon, Executive Vice President, Corporate Affairs, Red Hat, Inc.

Ken Wasch, President, Software & Information Industry Association

If you, or a person from your executive team, are interested in running for the SIIA Board, please have a brief campaign statement (not to exceed 200 words), sent to Marnel Williams (mwilliams@siia.net) no later than Friday, March 26, 2010.  The campaign statements will be bundled together and emailed to the principal contact at each SIIA Full Voting member company.  Members will be able to vote online through a password secure system.

2009-2010 SIIA Board of Directors Elections

The following current Board Members’ terms are expiring:

Cindy Braddon, Vice President, The McGraw-Hill Companies

Joseph T. FitzGerald, Vice President, Legal Deputy General Counsel, Symantec Corporation

Kathy Hurley, Senior Vice President, Strategic Partnerships, Pearson School Companies

Steven Manzo, Vice President, Government Affairs, Reed Elsevier, Inc.

Randy Marcinko, President, MEI

Fiona O’Carroll, EVP, Product Development Digital Products Research & Development, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company

Scott Schulman, President, Financial Information Services, Dow Jones & Company

Timothy Sheehy, Vice President, Worldwide Intellectual Property & Standard Policy, IBM Corporation