I Want To...

Go See a List of Winners
Go Visit the Finalist Gallery

Follow Us
On Social Media

Twitter #NealAwards
YouTube ABM on Facebook

Submission Rules

Please Read Carefully

The Neal Awards recognize the integration of print, digital and live platforms in b-to-b journalism. Many categories allow, or even require, examples from more than one platform. Any entry may include elements from multiple platforms (unless otherwise indicated).

IMPORTANT: All entries must include supporting images and/or screenshots for use in presentation materials and awards literature. Images may include press-ready PDFs or high-resolution TIFF, EPS or JPEG (300 DPI or greater). All print articles must be submitted as Web-ready PDFs for judging. Tear sheets are no longer required.


Categories 1-15 require entries in one of three classes of gross (print and online) advertising/circulation revenue:

Class A - less than $3 million
Class B - $3 million - $7 million
Class C - more than $7 million
Revenue is based on the media brand's revenue and not the parent company's revenue.

Submissions in Categories 16-22 require no revenue figures.

Two or more titles from the same publishing company that produce work jointly may enter as a team under the revenue classification of the larger title.


Print entries must have been published in an ABM/SIIA member publication with cover dates from December 1, 2013, through November 30, 2014, and distributed to the title's full regular circulation. Limited-distribution show dailies do not qualify.

In Category 2, a series with installments before or after the above dates may be entered in its entirety only if at least 50% of the series appeared within the competition period.

Material that has been published previously in any other publication or edition is NOT eligible. Only the original published or posted version may be submitted.

All entries must be in English.

All digital entries must have been posted between December 1, 2013, and November 30, 2014. Digital categories will be judged January 12-31, 2015. All links must be live and available through standard Web browsers at the time of judging. Entries for registration-restricted websites must include login/password information for the judges. Links that are not working during the judging period will not be judged. If you are a finalist, the links must be active until June 2015.

Both staff-written and contributed material is eligible.


Advertorials and content supplied or directed by an advertiser are ineligible. Any content that is sponsored or any editorial material that runs with an advertiser's logo must comply with Section II-6 of ABM's Editorial Code of Ethics. Any advertorial or sponsored content must be properly and clearly identified as a message paid for by an advertiser. Failure to include such labeling is in violation of the ABM Constitution and By-Laws, and such entries will be disqualified. If you feel there is any compelling reason why sponsored editorial should not be labeled as advertising, please make those reasons clear in the background statement on the entry form.

Materials submitted from websites should not hyperlink editorial content to advertising or other sponsored material.

All entries must adhere to the ABM Editorial Code of Ethics, which was updated this year.


No title may submit more than 20 entries, including print and digital submissions. Only two entries may be submitted in any category.

A submission may be entered in only one category; however, individual items contained in entries for Best Single Issue, Best Theme Issue, Best Newsletter, Best Website, Best Range of Work by a Single Author, Best Cross-Platform Package, or Best Media Brand also may be entered separately in other categories.


Early Bird entries will be accepted through November 14, 2014. Regular entries will be accepted through December 5, 2014, and ABM staff will not correct errors or alert you to problems with an entry submitted after this deadline. The final deadline for entries is December 12, 2014. Please note that there will not be an extension after the December 12 deadline.

All entries must be paid online at siia.net/neals by 11:59 p.m. PST, December 12, 2014. All payments must be paid online via credit card (American Express, MasterCard or Visa). Checks are no longer accepted as payment.

All finalists will be notified of their status. Award winners and the winner of the Grand Neal will be announced at the Neal Awards ceremony on Friday, March 27, 2015, in New York City.

Any inquiries about the final results should be addressed to the Editorial Committee, c/o Elizabeth A. Reid, at abmnealawards@siia.net. Decisions of the Committee and the Judging Board are final in all matters pertaining to the Neal Awards.

No refunds will be issued for any reason.