About the Neal Awards

The Jesse H. Neal Awards are the most prestigious editorial honors in the field of specialized journalism. Named after Jesse H. Neal, the first managing director of Connectiv, the Neal Awards were established in 1955 to recognize and reward editorial excellence in business media. Award-winning content reports on major industry issues of the time. Neal winners have exposed corruption and conflicts of interest and brought attention to major new trends, brilliant leadership, innovative tactics, and key developments in global businesses.

The Jesse H. Neal Awards have never been as relevant or consequential as they are today. There is a demand for quality business content rising higher.

And the fact is, you’re doing incredible work. Every day, you’ve challenged your audiences to think critically about their businesses, and inspired them to grow and innovate. You’ve engaged deeply with social issues and their implications for your markets. Your visual design and digital production have grown more sophisticated.    

The nomination season for the 2020 Jesse H. Neal Awards has begun. By nominating your work for a Neal Award you are making the case, to your company and to the communities you serve, that it's worth investing in.

2020 Neal Awards Timeline

OCT 7- DEC 31

Early Nominations

October 7 – November 15, 2019

Regular Nominations

November 16 – December 6, 2019

Extended Nomination Period

December 6 – 31, 2019

JAN 13 - FEB 14

First Round Judging

January 13 – 24, 2020

Second Round Judging

February 3 – 7, 2020 (in-person February 7)

Third Round Judging

February 12-14, 2020 (in-person February 13 & 14)

FEB 17 - APR 17

Finalists Announced

February 17, 2020

Neal Awards Virtual Luncheon

March 27, 2020